Home | Joint Activities | CCA & UNDAF

Avian and Human Influenza Since 2003, a devastating epidemic of avian influenza has predominately affected poultry flocks in East Asia-particularly in Vietnam, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Indonesia and China.For more information enter the UN Avian and Human Influenza web portal.

Read more

Useful links
United Nations
UN System
UN Millennium Summit
World Bank
Joint Activities
Thailand and the UN Global Agenda
In 1997, United Nations Secretary-General Kofi Annan instituted a reform process aimed at increasing the coherence and effectiveness of the UN system. The main focus of the reform is to improve collaboration between and within the UN system, government partners and other development actors in the pursuit of common - and commonly defined - goals and objectives.

The two most significant elements of the reform are:

The formulation of a common planning framework for the UNCT in every country - the UN Development Assistance Framework (UNDAF)
Cohesive support to achieve national development priorities, including monitoring the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals

The CCA-UNDAF Process: from Common Country Assessment
to Development Assistance Framework

UN Reform concerns working together efficiently and effectively, ensuring the maximisation of resources and the achievement of essential common goals. It is therefore critical to the ongoing legitimacy and accountability of the UN system.

In terms of country-level planning, this involves a major process with two components.

The Common Country Assessment (CCA) is a process that assesses and analyses current and ongoing development issues in a country, in view of establishing major priorities, needs and challenges. It is a way of seeing how a country is progressing and identifying areas in which the UN can bring added-value support to national development processes.

The CCA therefore forms the basis of the UN Development Assistance Framework (UNDAF) and identifies the focus-areas for collaboration in developing the framework. Whereas the CCA is an assessment, the UNDAF is an actual collective work plan which is based on the assessment and which guides the ongoing activities of the UN and development partners.

The CCA process and the UNDAF 2007-2011

Thailand-Common Country Assessment 2005

The Common County Assessment (CCA) is a key document for the United Nations in Thailand. It aims to summarize the principal aspects of the development situation, identify the priority concerns and in turn determine the strategic priorities and direction of the joint United Nations Partnership Framework for 2007-2011.

Six areas have had been identified as part of the CCA process for 2005 and ad hoc thematic working groups assessed and analysed them.

These are:

  1. Poverty Reduction and Social Protection
  2. Local Governance and Decentralization
  3. Environment
  5. Migration and Mobile Populations
  6. Education


                                                          Download CCA 2005 English/Thai

The UNDAF for Thailand 2002-2006

The UNDAF for Thailand 2002-2006 had as its underlying theme "Promoting Disparity Reduction and Sustainable Human Development". The six focus areas were Poverty Reduction, Social Protection and Social Development, Governance, International Competitiveness, Human Security and Environmental Management.

Download UNDAF 2002-2006


The UN Partnership Framework 2007-2011

The United Nations Partnership Framework ( UNPAF) is prepared based on CCA and stated national priorities. UNPAF identifies a clear set of strategic objectives and define the specific technical cooperation that each United Nations entity will make available for the period 2007-2011.

The UNPAF 2007-2011 is based on a mutually beneficial partnership between the UN and the RTG in areas of strategic importance to Thailand as a middle-income country. Moving beyond the traditional donor-recipient relationship, the UN Country Team in Thailand is engaged in a two-way exchange of knowledge and expertise. To reflect this new strategic approach, this document is referred to as the United Nations Partnership Framework instead of the traditional United Nations Development Assistance Framework (UNDAF).

The UN will support national efforts in making the MDG a reality for all by reaching out to those areas and groups who are not benefiting from the county’s rapid economic progress. Taking a human-rights approach to programming, the UNPAF aims to empower the most vulnerable people in society to claim their rights to live in dignity, free from fear and want; and to build the capacity of people in responsible positions to fulfill their societal obligations. Focused interventions will be undertaken in the following five areas of cooperation:

  1. Access to quality social services and protection;
  2. Decentralization and provincial/local governance;
  3. Access to comprehensive HIV prevention, treatment, care, and support
  4. Environment and natural resources management; and
  5. Global partnership for development-Thailand’s contribution


Download UNPAF 2007-2011